TAKEMITSU: Orchestral Works

Available in 44.1kHz/16bit

Buy Album
Album Name Length Format Sample Rate Price
TAKEMITSU: Orchestral Works 1:03:04 $11.98
Buy Individual Tracks
# Track Title Length Format Sample Rate Price
1 Spirit Garden [Seirei no niwa (Spirit Garden)] 14:53 44.1/16 Album only
2 Solitude Sonore [Solitude sonore] 6:38 $1.49 Buy
3 No. 1. Jose Torres: Music of Training and Rest (3 Film Scores) 5:13 $1.49 Buy
4 No. 2. Black Rain: Funeral Music (3 Film Scores) 5:20 $1.49 Buy
5 No. 3. Face of Another: Waltz (3 Film Scores) 2:33 $1.49 Buy
6 Dreamtime [Yume no toki (Dreamtime)] 14:39 44.1/16 Album only
7 A Flock Descends into the Pentagonal Garden [Tori wa hoshigata no niwa ni oriru (A Flock Descends in 13:48 44.1/16 Album only

Price as configured: $11.98

* Required Fields

Now regarded as one of the most important composers of the second half of the twentieth century, Toru Takemitsu was the first Japanese composer to gain international status. The works on this disc cover Takemitsu’s career from the early Solitude Sonore to Spirit Garden, ‘my experiment with and on-going inquiry into orchestral colour and melody’, composed two years before his death. Inspired by a dream, A Flock Descends into the Pentagonal Garden has become one of Takemitsu’s most performed works, notable for the interweaving of silences, passages of randomness, surges of dissonance and delicate fragmentary melodies.

Criticize the music of Toru Takemitsu at your peril, as once discovered to my discomfort. The Late Japanese composer is, in certain quarters, among the most revered figures in late 20th-century music. This collection, with Marin Alsop in absolute charge of her splendid Bournemouth band and completely au fait with the gleaming, static style of this often exquisite music, is about as good as you'll get. 4 out of 4 stars - Michael Tumelty, The Herald