The Capitol Sessions

Available in Audiophile 192kHz/24bit & 96kHz/24bit

Buy Album
Album Name Length Format Sample Rate Price
The Capitol Sessions 1:12:14 $24.98
Buy Individual Tracks
# Track Title Length Format Sample Rate Price
1 Bud's Open 3:54 192/24 Album only
2 I Think I Know 5:54 192/24 Album only
3 You Won't Hear Me Say Goodbye 4:42 192/24 Album only
4 Here's Looking At You 5:14 192/24 Album only
5 Haunted Heart 7:12 192/24 Album only
6 Ruth's Waltz 3:18 192/24 Album only
7 I Never Told You 5:44 192/24 Album only
8 Hello My Lovely 6:14 192/24 Album only
9 Blues For Leroy 9:15 192/24 Album only
10 Living Without You 4:58 192/24 Album only
11 Monday 7:37 192/24 Album only
12 52nd Street 3:49 192/24 Album only
13 La Luna Negra 4:23 192/24 Album only

Price as configured: $24.98

* Required Fields

℗ © 2013 Naim Audio Ltd.

Mike Melvoin - piano
Charlie Haden - bass
Bill Henderson - vocals (track 3, 6, 10)

The world's most in demand piano-man-for-hire for over forty years, Mike Melvoin makes his debut for Naim Label in duo form with Naim regular and acclaimed bass player Charlie Haden.

Charlie was very keen to record an album with Mike, with whom he had not played since the pianist's move from New York to Los Angeles in 1962. "I was totally thrilled when Charlie asked me to do a record with him," enthuses Mike. The intensity of feeling and enjoyment involved in this record is obvious through listening. As Mike says, jazz is what he is, whereas pop is what he does.

There are three vocal tracks by Bill Henderson on the album. Bill and Mike are also old friends, having appeared as a duo many times. Bill features on Charlie's most recent Quartet West album. Bill is still going strong at well over 80 years old and was recently described as "one of jazz's greatest living male vocalists".

Capitol Sessions was recorded during two intense days of recording at the world famous Capitol Studios in Los Angeles.