The Melody Of Rhythm: Triple Concerto & Music for Trio

Available in 44.1kHz/16bit

Buy Album
Album Name Length Format Sample Rate Price
The Melody Of Rhythm: Triple Concerto & Music for Trio 1:04:13 $11.98
Buy Individual Tracks
# Track Title Length Format Sample Rate Price
1 Babar 6:16 $1.49 Buy
2 Out of the Blue 5:03 $1.49 Buy
3 Bubbles 7:17 44.1/16 Album only
4 Melody of Rhythm: Movement 1 11:56 44.1/16 Album only
5 Melody of Rhythm: Movement 2 6:31 $1.49 Buy
6 Melody of Rhythm: Movement 3 9:44 44.1/16 Album only
7 Cadence 4:01 $1.49 Buy
8 In Conclusion 6:39 $1.49 Buy
9 Then Again 6:46 $1.49 Buy

Price as configured: $11.98

* Required Fields

The Melody of Rhythm, is an unparalleled collaboration between banjo virtuoso Béla Fleck, composer and double-bass master Edgar Meyer and Zakir Hussain, arguably the world’s greatest tabla player. A 19-city tour of North American concert halls is coming in September and October.

An understanding of musical tradition has led all three of these musical explorers to this common crossroad. “An understanding of musical tradition has led all three of these musical explorers to this common crossroad. “When I play with Zakir, I’m not an Indian musician but I can learn enough to be respectful in my ignorance. We can find a place to meet,” says Fleck, “America’s most celebrated banjoist” (LA Times) who holds the record for being the artist nominated in the greatest number of Grammy categories. “Along with carrying the top level of Indian classical music in his veins, Zakir is incredible at understanding music from all over the world and collaborating effectively with an amazingly diverse number of musicians.”

“All of this is learning, and a process,” adds Zakir, praised by the New York Times as “peerless…a fearsome technician but also a whimsical inventor.” “I’m still finding new things about my instrument. The way I play with Béla and Edgar shows me a few things I can add to my repertoire.”

“The give and take between musicians is often very defining…ideally, I’m more focused on Béla and Zakir than I am on myself,” says Edgar Meyer. Hailed by the New Yorker as “the most remarkable virtuoso in the relatively unchronicled history of his instrument,” he and Fleck have been collaborating for more than 25 years (including ‘Music For Two’ and the Grammy-winning ‘Perpetual Motion’). “From the beginning, Béla’s level of control and technique on the banjo was more typical for jazz or classical players.”

“Edgar is one of my longtime pals and influences. I’m thrilled to find a new way to collaborate with him,” add Fleck.

The centerpiece and catalyst for the album is “The Melody of Rhythm; Concerto,” an unprecedented three-movement composition for banjo, double bass and tabla. Recorded live with the Detroit Symphony Orchestra and conducted by Leonard Slatkin, this highly rhythmic work soars, melding Indian classical music with American roots.

Originally commissioned by the Nashville Symphony in 2004, Edgar and Béla agreed their dream collaborator would be Zakir Hussain. “There was a lot Edgar and I wanted to learn from him – mathematics and melodic musical concepts - and now we had something to offer him in return,” says Fleck, who developed a fascination with the tabla during a tour of India in the ‘80s. “This project feels like getting together with some brothers we hadn’t seen in some time.”