The Name Is Makowicz

Available in Audiophile 96kHz/24bit

Buy Album
Album Name Length Format Sample Rate Price
The Name Is Makowicz 34:13 $17.98
Buy Individual Tracks
# Track Title Length Format Sample Rate Price
1 A Flat Elegy (For Earl Hines) 05:46 96/24 Album only
2 You Do Something To Me 03:38 96/24 Album only
3 Dirty Blue 03:51 96/24 Album only
4 Moondust 03:41 96/24 Album only
5 Tough Chic 03:59 96/24 Album only
6 Pearl Grey 04:09 96/24 Album only
7 Bop Do Combo 04:22 96/24 Album only
8 Past Tense 04:47 96/24 Album only

Price as configured: $17.98

* Required Fields

℗ 1983, 2014 Sheffield Lab © 2014 Sheffield Lab


There was a time when it was considered unlikely, if not impossible, that anyone but an American would play jazz well. For the first few years after World War II, most of the jazz that came out of Europe seemed to justify that presumption. That era is gone and the list of fine jazz players from Europe, and more recently from Japan, is impressive. Jazz has become an international language, and there is nothing odder about a European jazz pianist than there is about an American symphony conductor.

One of the finest jazz pianists Europe has produced is Adam Makowicz. This recording presents Adam Makowicz in a setting suitalble to his talent. There is another dimension of Makowicz's prodigious talent that comes to the fore in this recording: his writing. With the exception of Cole Porter's "You Do Something To Me", all the tunes are Adam's own. His compositions have a special and interesting flavor. 

This recording was made with all-tube electronics designed and built by Sheffield Lab. A single-point stereo microphone was used to achieve a natural acoustic perspective. This technique, requiring a musical performance that is naturally balanced to the ear, allows us to capture the full wealth of ambient information, the physical placement of the musicians, as well as the depth and spaciousness of the recording hall. All of the Sheffield Lab classical recordings have used this single-point microphone technique; however, this is the first time we have used this method on a recording of contemporary music.