The Nights Of Bradley's

Available in 44.1kHz/16bit

Buy Album
Album Name Length Format Sample Rate Price
The Nights Of Bradley's 1:04:35 $11.98
Buy Individual Tracks
# Track Title Length Format Sample Rate Price
1 I Told You So [Kirk Lightsey] 07:07 44.1/16 Album only
2 Speak No Evil [Kirk Lightsey] 12:07 44.1/16 Album only
3 A Time For Love [Kirk Lightsey] 10:42 44.1/16 Album only
4 Giant Steps [Kirk Lightsey] 04:26 $1.49 Buy
5 From Dream To Dream [Kirk Lightsey] 10:56 44.1/16 Album only
6 In Your Own Sweet Way [Kirk Lightsey] 13:33 44.1/16 Album only
7 Oleo [Kirk Lightsey] 05:44 $1.49 Buy

Price as configured: $11.98

* Required Fields

The seven tracks on this disc offer aural evidence of this dynamic duo’s swing and sensitivity. Leading off is their light, Latin-tinged reading of George Cable’s I Told You So, where Lightsey playfully drops in a quotation from Thelonious Monk’s Bemsha Swing.

Their flawless, in-the-pocket rendition of Wayne Shorter’s mid ‘60s Blue Note masterpiece Speak No Evil, comes from the source: They performed with Shorter in a rare acoustic live date in Newark, NJ aired on National Public Radio. Johnny Mandel’s A Time for Love, and Dave Brubeck’s evergreen standard In Your Own Sweet Way, highlight Lightsey’s singing tone. Benny Golson’s From Dream to Dream is buoyed by Reed’s beautiful arco bass, while John Coltrane’s Giant Steps retains its breakneck post-bop structure, harmonically and thematically expanded on by the pianist and bassist.

Sonny Rollins’s Oleo, the famous break tune, closes this set with the promise of more jazz to come.

"an excellent pianist, able to straddle avant-garde and mainstream without clearly aligning one way or another; this is a duo with bassist Rufus Reid, recorded at NYC's famous after-hours club; intimate and intelligent. B+" - Tom Hull