The Out-of-Towners

Available in 44.1kHz/16bit

Buy Album
Album Name Length Format Sample Rate Price
The Out-of-Towners 1:08:38 $11.98
Buy Individual Tracks
# Track Title Length Format Sample Rate Price
1 Intro - I Can't Believe That You're In Love With Me 12:15 44.1/16 Album only
2 You've Changed 8:18 44.1/16 Album only
3 I Love You 10:06 44.1/16 Album only
4 The Out-of-Towners 19:50 44.1/16 Album only
5 Five Brothers 11:17 44.1/16 Album only
6 It's All In The Game 6:52 $1.49 Buy

Price as configured: $11.98

* Required Fields

Recorded in Munich, ECM's hometown, in 2001, "The Out-of-Towners " finds jazz's most consistently creative piano trio at the peak of its game. Keith Jarrett, Gary Peacock, and Jack DeJohnette captivate the audience at the Munich State Opera.
Balancing standards and jazz tunes with Keith Jarrett originals, the trio keeps the music in tight focus. There is spirited blues-based group improvisation in the title track, and shared joy as the musicians roar into "Five Brothers", the old Gerry Mulligan favourite, or negotiate the blissful, enraptured melody of Cole Porter’s "I Love You." At the album's conclusion, Keith Jarrett returns to the stage alone – a rare moment in the trio’s recordings - to play a heart dilating rendition of the ballad "It's All In The Game." -- so tender that it could easily have fit onto his "The Melody At Night With You" solo disc.

"The fascinatingly preoccupied, almost abstract blues of the title track displays more layers and implications than any other “ from the pianist's minimal, fragmentary blues figures to peacock's free-associating rejoinders, and DeJohnette's lateral, pattering brushwork. There'd be an argument for saying the disc was worth it for that fascinating interlude alone." - John Fordham, The Guardian