The Way I Were

Available in 44.1kHz/16bit

Buy Album
Album Name Length Format Sample Rate Price
The Way I Were 48:26 $11.98
Buy Individual Tracks
# Track Title Length Format Sample Rate Price
1 She's a Goddess [Freedy Johnston] 2:33 $1.49 Buy
2 I Got the Papers Right Here [Freedy Johnston] 2:13 $1.49 Buy
3 This Really Happened [Freedy Johnston] 2:27 $1.49 Buy
4 I Do, I Do [Freedy Johnston] 2:40 $1.49 Buy
5 Love Songs about Girls [Freedy Johnston] 2:34 $1.49 Buy
6 The Enchanted Car [Freedy Johnston] 4:09 $1.49 Buy
7 Happy Birthday [Freedy Johnston] 5:06 $1.49 Buy
8 Captain Astro [Freedy Johnston] 3:21 $1.49 Buy
9 Light of Doubt [Freedy Johnston] 3:04 $1.49 Buy
10 When the Cryin's Done [Freedy Johnston] 2:57 $1.49 Buy
11 I Can't Stop Shaking [Freedy Johnston] 4:01 $1.49 Buy
12 The Man with the 4-Stroke Heart [Freedy Johnston] 4:22 $1.49 Buy
13 Friend in the City [Freedy Johnston] 6:03 $1.49 Buy
14 I Know Two People Who Love to Fight [Freedy Johnston] 2:56 $1.49 Buy

Price as configured: $11.98

* Required Fields

Freedy Johnston in the early days of his career wrote a number of remarkable songs that were never recorded for any of his albums. Over the years Freedy’s friends have collected a number of these songs from various sources, live recordings, radio broadcasts, 4 track demos, early studio work, and incomplete rough mixes of 24 track recordings. These friends and fans grew to love the songs and would trade cassette compilations.

"Friend In The City" was an excellent early rocker, "Happy Birthday" a four track demo where a lonely Freedy toasts his birthday, creating a conversation with himself by overdubbing his vocals, and "Light Of Doubt," an incomplete outtake from his 1990 debut album The Trouble Tree was a classic song that got away.

A couple years back Bar/ None presented a CDR of these disparate recordings to Freedy and suggested he consider an album of his great lost songs. To our surprise Freedy had four track recordings for just about all the songs in question as well as a couple we had never heard before. The songs were laid down between 1986 and 1992.

“Happy Bithday” was actually written for my cousin for his birthday,” Freedy remembers, “ ‘Captain Astro’ was about a Witchita Saturday Morning cartoon host I used to watch when I was a kid and “Can’t Stop Shaking” was recorded with a Sony stereo mike that I accidentally ran through the wash and then a dryer cycle. You can hear that it’s working but a little funky.”

On these recordings Freedy plays all the instruments. There's a uniformed sound to the recordings although stylistically they are quite diverse as he works his way through, country, rock and roll, even a disco groove or two. With the exception of a live version of "Man With The Four Stroke Heart" that appeared on an early Bar/None compilation, none of these songs have ever seen the light of day. All in all 14 great lost songs from one of our finest songwriters.

Mastering engineer Scott Hull at The Hit Factory (Garbage, John Mayer, Steely Dan) took his time making The Way I Were into a uniformed listening experience.

"These recordings are not trying to be anything more than what they are”, says Scott. You are hearing the songs as they were conceived, the basic unadorned creations as Freedy first imagined them and the are simply great songs in any context."

Freedy is currently working on new recordings in Nashville with producer Roger Moutenot, drummer Anton Fier, longtime collaborator Cameron Grieder on guitar and Brad Albetta on bass.

"There are few artists that have a hidden treasure trove of unreleased songs from their early years that are of the quality of Freedy Johnston's. Now, at long last he offers them to the listening public. The 14 previously unreleased songs on The Way I Were reveal missing moments from 1988-1991, and provide a wonderful complement to his Bar/None and Elektra releases". - Filter