The Works For Piano 7

Available in 44.1kHz/16bit

Buy Album
Album Name Length Format Sample Rate Price
The Works For Piano 7 1:11:01 $11.98
Buy Individual Tracks
# Track Title Length Format Sample Rate Price
1 Chess Pieces (John Cage) 7:53 44.1/16 Album only
2 Sonatas And Interludes (John Cage) - Sonata I 2:48 $1.49 Buy
3 Sonata II 2:02 $1.49 Buy
4 Sonata III 2:35 $1.49 Buy
5 Sonata IV 2:35 $1.49 Buy
6 First Interlude 3:33 $1.49 Buy
7 Sonata V 1:40 $1.49 Buy
8 Sonata VI 2:10 $1.49 Buy
9 Sonata VII 2:07 $1.49 Buy
10 Sonata VIII 3:11 $1.49 Buy
11 Second Interlude 4:14 $1.49 Buy
12 Third Interlude 2:43 $1.49 Buy
13 Sonata IX 4:10 $1.49 Buy
14 Sonata X 3:15 $1.49 Buy
15 Sonata XI 3:25 $1.49 Buy
16 Sonata XII 3:02 $1.49 Buy
17 Fourth Interlude 2:48 $1.49 Buy
18 Sonata Xiii 4:12 $1.49 Buy
19 Sonatas XIV & XV "Gemini" 6:04 $1.49 Buy
20 Sonata XVI 5:01 $1.49 Buy
21 Chess Serenade (Vittorio Rieti) 1:33 $1.49 Buy

Price as configured: $11.98

* Required Fields

A major discovery and first recording of an important Cage piece from 1944.

In 1944, John Cage was invited to participate in "The Imagery of Chess" exhibition at the Julien Levy Gallery in New York City. The artists included Calder, Noguchi, Motherwell, Breton, Duchamp, Ernst, Man Ray, Tanning and other leading surrealists.

Cage contributed a painting entitled "Chess Pieces". It was purchased at the show and went into a private collection. For decades it was deemed lost and was (almost) forgotten by Cage afficionados and scholars.

Re-assembling the original artworks for "The Imagery of Chess Revisited" show (2005-06) at the Isamu Noguchi Museum in New York led to the tracking down of the Cage painting.

Cage expert Margaret Leng Tan set about transcribing the music in the painting into a playable score which receives its premiere recording here.

Chess Pieces is from 1944, an emotional and creative year for Cage; besides echoes of Satie, Chess Pieces contains prophetic touches of minimalism and has features in common with his monumental piano piece, Four Walls, from the same year.

A renowned Cage interpreter, Ms. Tan worked closely with the composer from 1981 to 1992. Cage was particularly appreciative of her performances of his works for the prepared piano. This is Ms. Tan's long-awaited recording of Cage's prepared piano masterpiece, the Sonatas and Interludes of 1946-48.

Also included is the first recording of the only other musical score from "The Imagery of Chess" show, neo-classical composer Vittorio Rieti's Chess Serenade.

"In Tan's hands, the musical perspective in Cage's music suddenly acquires an extra dimension or layer of colour that one does not hear in rival accounts." - Guy Rickards, International Piano