Third Round

Available in Audiophile 88kHz/24bit & 44.1kHz/16bit

Buy Album
Album Name Length Format Sample Rate Price
Third Round 37:31 $20.98
Buy Individual Tracks
# Track Title Length Format Sample Rate Price
1 Swing Piece 4:03 $2.49 Buy
2 Keep On Trippin' 4:47 $2.49 Buy
3 Senses 3:28 $2.49 Buy
4 Being Ben 3:44 $2.49 Buy
5 Une larme dans ton sourire 2:02 $2.49 Buy
6 Springtime Dancing 3:36 $2.49 Buy
7 Out Take Number 9 1:43 $2.49 Buy
8 Shine And Blue 4:27 $2.49 Buy
9 Stay With You 3:50 $2.49 Buy
10 Flower Skin 3:46 $2.49 Buy
11 Urban Shadow 2:05 $2.49 Buy

Price as configured: $20.98

* Required Fields

Intensified commitment to the French-African drummer’s programme of “beautifully mutated grooves and jazzy themes” (to quote The Guardian) distinguishes Manu Katché’s third ECM album. Inside an all-new line-up, bassist Pino Palladino nonchalantly reinforces the groove element – he and Katché have much shared history as sessioneers – and helps the pulses of Manu’s tunes to dance. Pianist Rebello has both delicacy of touch and energy to burn, and saxophonist Brunborg, currently playing at a peak, solos passionately on Katché’s melodies. Guest guitarist Jacob Young shades and colours a handful of pieces, while Kami Lyle adds innocent vocals to “Stay With You”. Recorded in the South of France in December 2009 and issued on the eve of a major European tour, “Third Round” is poised to be one of the season’s jazz hits.

There's a bit of the old rock drummer in Mr. Katche's snappy rimshots on Keep on Trippin¦ and on the funky Shine and Blue. But the album also provides plenty of proof of his talent for writing elegant tunes, which he then washes in color with his signature work on the cymbals. Under his hands, a cymbal can tell a story, provide a counterpoint to a melodic line, or become an extension of the harmony.