What's Going On

Available in Audiophile 192kHz/24bit & 96kHz/24bit

Buy Album
Album Name Length Format Sample Rate Price
What's Going On 44:42 $24.98
Buy Individual Tracks
# Track Title Length Format Sample Rate Price
1 What's Going On 3:53 192/24 Album only
2 What's Happening Brother 2:43 192/24 Album only
3 Flyin' High (In The Friendly Sky) 3:49 192/24 Album only
4 Save The Children 4:03 192/24 Album only
5 God Is Love 1:41 192/24 Album only
6 Mercy Mercy Me (The Ecology) 3:16 192/24 Album only
7 Right On 7:32 192/24 Album only
8 Wholy Holy 3:07 192/24 Album only
9 Inner City Blues (Make Me Wanna Holler) 5:33 192/24 Album only
10 God Is Love (Mono - Single Version) 2:50 192/24 Album only
11 Sad Tomorrows (Single Version) 2:22 192/24 Album only
12 What's Going On (Mono - Single Version) 3:53 192/24 Album only

Price as configured: $24.98

* Required Fields


About the Mastering
Mastering was completed by Kevin Reeves at Sterling Sound NYC, using the original masters from the Motown Records vault. The masters were played on a modified Studer A820 with Wolke Butterfly heads and converted to digital at 192khz/24bit resolution using the DCS 904 converter and Sterling’s proprietary mastering systems. As always, the most direct signal path was maintained throughout the mastering process.

Marvin Gaye’s 1971 landmark recording, What’s Going On, revolutionized music history. The brilliant concept album featured politically charge anthems tackling themes of urban decay, environmental issues, police brutality, unemployment and poverty. The album not only topped the Billboard R&B charts, it was featured on countless “Best of” lists including Spin magazine, Q magazine, Mojo and NME. The album ranked #6 on Rolling Stone’s “500 Greatest Albums of All Time.” The album received high regards from Billboard, the Chicago Tribune, The Observer, Rolling Stone, Pitchfork, Slant Magazine, Uncut and Q. Included were the monster hits, “What’s Going On” and “Inner City Blues.” It was inducted into the Grammy Hall of Fame in 1998.

5 stars out of 5 -- "Greatest protest album ever made? Most stirring soul-music symphony? Yes and yes. And then some." - Rolling Stone