Available in 44.1kHz/16bit

Buy Album
Album Name Length Format Sample Rate Price
Tragicomic 1:01:16 $11.98
Buy Individual Tracks
# Track Title Length Format Sample Rate Price
1 The Weight Of Things 2:20 $1.49 Buy
2 Macaca Please 4:57 $1.49 Buy
3 Aftermath 6:22 $1.49 Buy
4 Comin' Up 4:25 $1.49 Buy
5 Without Lions 2:57 $1.49 Buy
6 Mehndi 6:53 $1.49 Buy
7 Age Of Everything 5:27 $1.49 Buy
8 Window Text 5:46 $1.49 Buy
9 I'm All Smiles 4:47 $1.49 Buy
10 Machine Days 7:31 44.1/16 Album only
11 Threnody 6:10 $1.49 Buy
12 Becoming 3:41 $1.49 Buy

Price as configured: $11.98

* Required Fields

The ability to approach both composition and improvisation in such a cerebral manner is a unique quality of the composer/pianist Vijay Iyer. His music encapsulates a vast knowledge of form and a tremendous imagination. Iyer's new CD, Tragicomic, documents his recent progress in the fields of composition and improvisation, backed by his favorite musical companions in a number of settings (trio & quartet). Iyer is accompanied by an amazing group of musicians on Tragicomic: alto saxophonist Rudresh Mahanthappa, bassist Stephan Crump and drummer Marcus Gilmore.

"The material on Tragicomic comes from several sources - including a suite by the same name, a theatrical dance work and Michael Leonard's oft-covered "I'm All Smiles" - yet there is a vein of commonality running through everything here." James Hale, DOWNBEAT