Warp and Weft

Available in Audiophile 88kHz/24bit

Buy Album
Album Name Length Format Sample Rate Price
Warp and Weft 42:32 $17.98
Buy Individual Tracks
# Track Title Length Format Sample Rate Price
1 Sun Song 4:12 88/24 Album only
2 America 4:13 88/24 Album only
3 Finster Saw the Angels 3:00 88/24 Album only
4 Dorothy of the Island 5:31 88/24 Album only
5 Shape Shifter 3:06 88/24 Album only
6 Ghosts of Louisville 0:29 88/24 Album only
7 Say Darlin' Say 3:48 88/24 Album only
8 That Alice 3:26 88/24 Album only
9 Ikaria 1:29 88/24 Album only
10 Sadako Folding Cranes 3:54 88/24 Album only
11 Ten Bridges 3:54 88/24 Album only
12 White Cherry 5:30 88/24 Album only

Price as configured: $17.98

* Required Fields

℗ © Raven Marching Band


From one of the country’s most inimitable songwriters – Portland, Oregon’s Laura Veirs – comes her ninth full-length album. Beautiful, lush and at times deeply dark, "Warp and Weft" captures the intensity of motherhood, love and violence. Primarily electric-guitar driven, it is a fever dream of an album and could well be Veirs’ best work to date. It builds on the uniform praise and commercial success of 2010's "July Flame," which Utne Reader dubbed “idiosyncratic and captivating” and received glowing reviews from The New York Times, Pitchfork, NPR and others.

The recording of "Warp and Weft" (a weaving term) was a community effort. Produced in Portland in March 2013 by Veirs’ longtime collaborator Tucker Martine, the album features Jim James, kd lang, Neko Case, Brian Blade and members of The Decemberists and many more.

Veirs sings not only of mid-winter suns, white blossoming cherry trees and melting ice, but also suicide, gun violence and war. She weaves threads of old folk songs including “Motherless Children” as well as stories of folk-art hero Howard Finster and jazz harpist Alice Coltrane. “I think of this record as a tapestry where disparate elements come together and are stronger and more lovely as a result,” says Veirs. Veirs was eight months pregnant with her second child during the recording; she says her experience as a mother brought about some of the more beautiful and painful songs. “I’m haunted by the idea that something terrible could happen to my kids but that fear pushes me to embrace the moment. This record is an exploration of extremes – deep, dark suffering and intense, compassionate love.”