Where The Heart Is Pure

Available in 44.1kHz/16bit

Buy Album
Album Name Length Format Sample Rate Price
Where The Heart Is Pure 57:45 $11.98
Buy Bundles
# Track Title Length Format Sample Rate Price
Violin Concerto $5.98 Buy
Where The Heart Is Pure $5.98 Buy
Delicate Sky $5.98 Buy
Buy Individual Tracks
# Track Title Length Format Sample Rate Price
1 Violin Concerto | 1 Summer Nights 07:10 44.1/16 Album only
2 Violin Concerto | 2 A Song Of Contemplation 08:11 44.1/16 Album only
3 Violin Concerto | 3 Toccata 03:57 $1.49 Buy
4 Where The Heart Is Pure | 1 Where The Heart Is Pure 07:26 44.1/16 Album only
5 Where The Heart Is Pure | 2 Night Along The Columbia 06:13 $1.49 Buy
6 Where The Heart Is Pure | 3 Spring Poem In The Skagit Valley 02:04 $1.49 Buy
7 Delicate Sky | 1 Intense, Yet With Swing 06:15 $1.49 Buy
8 Delicate Sky | 2 Following Through 10:47 44.1/16 Album only
9 Sun Music | Open Air 05:42 $1.49 Buy

Price as configured: $11.98

* Required Fields

Where The Heart Is Pure was composed as a tribute to the wonderful Northwest poet Robert Sund, whom I've had the pleasure of knowing for over twenty-five years now. When I first met Robert, he was living in a converted net shed overlooking the Skagit River in the Northwest part of Washington State. For several years I made the journey out to visit him from my home in Seattle before moving to San Francisco. When I went to visit, we would typically stay up into the early hours of the morning while I improvised on the guitar and he read his poetry. Since I'd always wanted to set Robert's poetry to music, I decided to create a song cycle depicting a journey out to see him on the river. With that in mind, the first section of the composition starts with me leaving the urban environment I've always had to live in in order to survive as a composer. To relate to that idea, the music is jagged, yet with a jazz-like swing, with the soloist singing my own version of scat. The second section is the traveling music which depicts the actual journey out to see him. This section then leads to a cello solo which is the actual arrival music, bringing the listener to the setting of the first poem. All three poems are then set so the listener can easily understand them.

--Peter Scott Lewis

"Lewis writes in an attractive tonal idiom that appeals to both heart and mind. The music is euphonious and often disarmingly pretty, but with a core of strength that shows itself in surprising harmonic choices and vigorous instrumental textures." - San Francisco Sunday Examiner & Chronicle